The reason why I shoot Manual Focus?


This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Hi guys, this is just a personal reference why I shoot with manual focus.

I shoot with a 1D Mark IV, and I love it. Recently I shot at a college baseball game, and took a Nikon D3s, which is an amazing camera. I usually shoot with the focus on the AF button so I don’t rely on the trigger finger. This time I was at 3rd base covering a runner on third, knowing a bunt was coming and I prefocused (unfortunately with autofocus) on home base on the catcher.

The hit came, and a high throw to the catcher was in route. I started my shooting with the Nikon D3s and the focus was on the trigger finger. The next series of shots are the reason I started shooting manually again, pre-focusing on the catcher and focusing with my fingers..

 

 

Is it the cameras fault? No, of course not. I didn’t know the equipment, and no I rely on my finger focusing more than pre-focus.

This is my personal preference, and you can by all means shoot with AF or not.
I am just sharing one of the reasons I shoot like this.

I look forward to shooting a lot more.
Be safe

3 thoughts on “The reason why I shoot Manual Focus?

  1. Michael, I have to comment here to let know you there is a better way. No matter how fast and skilled you are, the auto focus on these pro cameras will always be better than you are.

    To take full control of the auto focus and not let the camera do this to you again, Put the auto focus on the back AF button, and use it with your thumb only when you want to. AND take the auto focus off the shutter button.

    No more back focus jumps. problem solved.

Leave a comment